The Mysteries of the Rosary

The Mysteries of the Rosary

In praying the rosary, an individual can meditate upon the different significant events in the life of Jesus Christ and the Blessed Virgin Mary.

Originally, the rosary consisted of fifteen mysteries which are grouped into three main mysteries: Sorrowful, Joyful and Glorious.

However, in 2002, Pope John Paul II published his Apostolic Letter entitled Letter Rosarium Virginis Mariae adding the five new mysteries that are called as the Luminous Mysteries or Mysteries of the Light.

The first mysteries are called joyful mysteries and are recited on Mondays and Saturdays.

The Mysteries of the Light or Luminous Mysteries are recited during Thursdays.

The Sorrowful Mysteries are recited on Tuesdays and Fridays and during Wednesdays and Sundays, the Glorious Mysteries are recited.

Catholics around the world associate specific values and vrtues within each mystery.

According to the Apostolic Letter Rosarium Virginis Mariae, “This indication is not intended to limit a rightful freedom in personal and community prayer, where account needs to be taken of spiritual and pastoral needs and of the occurrence of particular liturgical celebrations which might call for suitable adaptations”

The following are the twenty mysteries that Catholics should meditate:

Luminous Mysteries:

1.) The Baptism at Jordan River (Virtue of the Mystery: Openness to the Holy Spirit-the Healer.)

2.) The Wedding at Cana (Virtue of the Mystery: To Jesus through Mary. The understanding of the ability to manifest-through faith.)

3.) The Proclamation of God’s Kingdom (Virtue of the Mystery: Trust in God)

4.) The Transfiguration (Virtue of the Mystery: Desire for Holiness)

5.) The Institution of the Eucharist (Virtue of the Mystery: Adoration)

Joyful Mysteries:

1.) The Annunciation (Virtue of the Mystery: Humility)

2.) The Visitation (Virtue of the Mystery: Love of Neighbor)

3.) The Birth of Jesus Christ (Virtue of the Mystery: Poverty (poor in spirit), Detachment from the things of the world, Contempt of Riches, Love of the PooR)

4.) The Presentation of Jesus Christ in the Temple (Virtue of the Mystery: Purity)

5.) The Finding of Jesus Christ at the Temple (Virtue of the Mystery: True Wisdom and True Conversion.)

Sorrowful Mysteries

1.) The Agony in the Garden of Gethsemane (Virtue of the Mystery: Sorrow for Sin, Uniformity with the will of God)

2.) The Scourging at the Pillar (Virtue of the Mystery: Mortification)

3.) The Crowning with Thorns (Virtue of the Mystery: Contempt of the world)

4.) The Carrying of the Cross (Virtue of the Mystery: Patience)

5.) The Crucifixion and Death of Jesus Christ (Virtue of the Mystery: Salvation)

Glorious Mysteries

1.) The Resurrection of Jesus Christ (Virtue of the Mystery: Faith)

2.) The Ascension of Jesus Christ (Virtue of the Mystery: Hope and desire for ascension to Heaven)

3.) The Coming of Holy Spirit into the Apostles Fruit of the Mystery: Holy Wisdom to know the truth and share with everyone

4.) The Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary (Virtue of the Mystery: Grace of a Happy Death and True Devotion towards Mary)

5.) The Coronation of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Heaven (Virtue of the Mystery: Perseverance and Crown of Glory)

These twenty mysteries are very significant events during the earthly lives of Jesus Christ and the Virgin Mary.

When we pray the rosary, we do not just merely recite them, instead we meditate within our hearts and souls. When we recite the mysteries, we must think of certain mysteries that Jesus Christ or the Blessed Virgin Mary had depicted.

Meditation is very powerful when we recite the rosary. With meditation, we add essentials and substance to our devotion.

When we learn how to pray the rosary, we were only concerned on mere memorizing the set of prayers and the repetitive rhythm.

This is just normal. However, once we absorbed the thoughts, we must understand to determine our focus. Praying the rosary without meditation is very ineffective and hollow.