Home Uncategorized Medina may be three-time world surfing champion in Portugal


Medina may be three-time world surfing champion in Portugal

by Ace Damon
Medina may be three-time world surfing champion in Portugal

Brazilian Gabriel Medina, 25, may win the third world surfing championship already in the next stage of the circuit, in Portugal. The window of competitions in Peniche opens on Wednesday (16) and runs until October 28.

The first call of the competition is scheduled for 4am (Brasilia). ESPN and the World Surfing League (WSL) website broadcast the batteries.

To secure the early title of the season, Medina works with two scenarios. In both will need to reach at least the final, which has achieved two opportunities in the eight Portuguese stages he has played so far in his career.

If you are a champion, compatriots Filipe Toledo, 24, and Italo Ferreira, 25, will not be able to reach the quarterfinals and the decision respectively.

With the runner-up, he will need Filipe Toledo to fall until the third round and Italo Ferreira not until the fourth. In addition, South African Jordy Smith and American Kolohe Andino will not be able to reach the semifinals.

Champion in 2014 and 2018, Medina leads the World League with 48,015 points and has a considerable advantage for second place, Filipinho, who adds 45,730. Smith (43,515) and Italo (42,400) follow.

The last leg, at Pipeline, Hawaii, is scheduled for December 8th.

The performance of the double champion on the final stretch of the circuit in the last five years was crucial to win your titles. Counting the stages of Portugal and Hawaii during this period, Medina just was not in the first eight three times.

The Brazilian won the Portuguese race in the 2017 season. Last year, he fell in the semifinals in Peniche (defeated by Italo, who won the stage) and secured the second world championship by taking first place in Pipeline.

If confirmed the third championship, Medina will be the sixth surfer to add three achievements in the history of the world circuit of professional surfing.

The first was the Australian Mark Richards, four consecutive champion from 1979 to 1982. The second was the American Tom Curren, with the titles of 1985, 1986 and 1990.

Considered the greatest surfer of all time, the 47-year-old American Kelly Slater has eight world titles and was the only one to win the championship in five consecutive seasons (from 1994 to 1998).

Hawaiian Andy Irons (1978-2010) was three-time champion with achievements in 2002, 2003 and 2004. Last to achieve the feat, Australian Mick Fanning won the 2007, 2009 and 2013 World Cups.

Among women, Hawaiian Carissa Moore has a good chance of securing her fourth championship in Portugal.

In addition to the title race, there will be in the final stretch of the season the places to which Brazil will be entitled at the Tokyo Olympics. In men, the tendency is for Medina to secure one, and the other to be between Filipinho and Italo.

Tatiana Weston-Webb and Silvana Lima are expected to be the country's women's representatives at the Olympic premiere of the sport.

. (tagsToTranslate) surfing (t) Gabriel Medina (t) surfer (t) world (t) filipe toledo (t) italo ferreira (t)


Related Articles

Leave a Comment

2 + four =

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More