Home Uncategorized Marcelo enters 'by name' in player-selected team of the year


Marcelo enters 'by name' in player-selected team of the year

by Ace Damon

Liverpool goalkeeper Alisson and left-back Marcelo of Real Madrid are the Brazilians who make up the 2019 team elected by the football players themselves.

Announced on FIFA's gala night, where the ultimate entity of the ball promotes The Best, the 11-player team consists of a goalkeeper, four defenders, three midfielders and three strikers.

According to FIFPro (International Federation of Professional Players Associations), the organizer of this election since 2005 – from 2009 together with FIFA – 65,000 footballers from over 70 countries have received ballots to elect their ideal football team. 2018/2019 season.

The choice of Alisson, who also earned the FIFA goalkeeper trophy, was more than expected.

Least-leaved English League goalkeeper, Champions League champion (with great performance in the final), Copa America champion with the Brazilian Team, surpassed compatriot Ederson (Manchester City), Slovakian Oblak (Atletico Madrid), German Ter Stegen (Barcelona) and Spaniard De Gea (Manchester United).

Marcelo's, however, surprised. It shows, in my view, that he only took a place in the 2019 selection because of his name, his accumulated career track record.

He won votes for the figure his professional colleagues formed from him over the years (European and World Champion with Real in 2014, 2016, 2017 and 2018) and not for what he played from August 2018 to July 2019.

The season, which ended with the Copa America and the African Nations Cup, was the worst of the excellent side, one of the best in history.

Marcelo regrets Brazil's elimination against Belgium at the Russian World Cup; later he was no longer called to the Brazilian team (John Sibley – 6.jul.2018 / Reuters)

Marcelo, now 31 years old, was no longer called by Tite to the Brazilian team after the Russian World Cup – The coach has given preference to Alex Sandro, Filipe Luís and also called newbies.

Worse, it has even embittered something unthinkable, the Real Madrid booking under the management of Argentine coach Santiago Solari, who opted for the irregular Reguilón, almost ten years younger, from November to March.

Marcelo it is better than all of the above, but in the FIFA / FIFPro election it was by no means worthy of being one of the four most voted supporters.

It was unfairly ahead of competitors who had great performances in the season.

Among the side that received fewer votes than Marcelo: Daniel Alves (then at Paris Saint-Germain), who broke out in the Copa America; Alexander-Arnold and Robertson, both from European Champion Liverpool; Kimmich, from German champion Bayern; Jordi Alba, of the Spanish champion Barcelona; and Walker, from English champion Manchester City.

Also at least two defenders (Man City's Frenchman Laporte and PSG's Thiago Silva) who did not join the national team played much more in 2018/2019 than Marcelo.

Here's this year's FIFA / FIFPro team: Alisson; Sergio Ramos (Spain / Real Madrid), From Ligt (Netherlands / Ajax, today at Juventus), Van dijk (Netherlands / Liverpool) and Marcelo; De Jong (Netherlands / Ajax, today at Barcelona), Modric (Croatia / Real Madrid) and Hazard (Belgium / Chelsea, today at Real Madrid); Mbappe (France / PSG), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal / Juventus) and Messi (Argentina / Barcelona).

Besides Marcelo, they won “with the name”, in my opinion, Sergio Ramos (Laporte deserved) and Modric (Casemiro or Serbian Tadic deserved).

In the attack, the choice of Mbappe and Cristiano Ronaldo are not questionable, but they could easily give way to Salah, Mané (both from Liverpool) or Sterling (Man City).

With Alisson and Marcelo among the 11, Brazil has been present in the FIFPro year selection since the first election in 2005.

  • 2005 – Dida, Cafu and Ronaldinho Gaúcho
  • 2006 – Kaka and Ronaldinho Gaúcho
  • 2007 – Kaka and Ronaldinho Gaúcho
  • 2008 – Kaka
  • 2009 – Daniel Alves
  • 2010 – Maicon and Lucius
  • 2011 – Daniel Alves
  • 2012 – Daniel Alves and Marcelo
  • 2013 – Daniel Alves and Thiago Silva
  • 2014 – Thiago Silva and David Luiz
  • 2015 – Daniel Alves, Thiago Silva, Marcelo and Neymar
  • 2016 – Daniel Alves and Marcelo
  • 2017 – Daniel Alves, Marcelo and Neymar
  • 2018 – Daniel Alves and Marcelo
  • 2019 – Alisson and Marcelo

These 31 appearances are not enough to make Brazil the record attendance country.

Spain, at 43, are ahead, thanks mainly to the constant presence of Sergio Ramos (ten), Iniesta (nine), Xavi (six), Casillas (five) and Piqué (four).

Without exception, each of those chosen each year – 165 in all – served by a European team. Barcelona, ​​49 times, and Real Madrid, 46, are fired the most elected clubs.

Individually, they occupy the podium Cristiano Ronaldo and Messi (tied, 13 teams of the year each), Sergio Ramos (present in ten teams) and Iniesta (elected to nine teams).


Related Articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More